Deerhoof vs OneOne: Sealed With A Kiss / OneOne Theme
Someone Good

In commemoration of their 2010 Australia and New Zealand tour, Deerhoof and OneOne split a seven-inch single packaged by the Australian label Someone Good in a bright, canary yellow sleeve. Deerhoof (Satomi Matsuzaki, John Dieterich, and Greg Saunier) grabs the A-side with “Sealed With A Kiss,” a twisted, lurching fuzzball of tick-tock bass lines, primitive drumming, noisy guitar riffing, and chirped vocals—take your pick: the tune's squawk is either mildly brain-damaged or brain-damaging. The Tenniscoats side-project OneOne (Satomi and Saya) lightens the mood on the B-side with the lo-fi bedroom jangle of “OneOne Theme,” where vocals, acoustic guitars, and melodica combine to form a breezy, folk-pop cocktail.

June 2010