VA: In This Nest, We Found Our Winged Tales

Listeners previously seduced by Mü-nest's magical sounds will know what to expect from the remix compilation in this nest, we found our winged tales, especially when contributors such as haruka nakamura, Akira Kosemura, aus, FJORDNE, aspidistrafly, and flica are involved. The Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia-based label switches up the remix formula slightly by having the ten artists pair up so that in each group two artists remix one another. All of the album's electroacoustic settings could be generally characterized as serene meditations that tantalize with their graceful sounds and exquisite colour. Gentle melodies and soft female voices float peacefully from one song to the next, such that individually and collectively a state of calm sets in.

The first pairing brings us aspidistrafly and haruka nakamura remixing each other's work. Nakamura turns aspidistrafly's “red toe nails” into a sparkling wonderland of cooing voices and glockenspiel tinkles while aspidistrafly (Ricks Ang and April Lee), intensifying the stirring beauty of nakamura's “luz,” weaves soft voices into a dream-like setting. hearts+horses' “tufts” remains entrancing in its aus (Yasuhiko Fukuzono) remix, and the latter's “IHI” (boosted by a Cokiyu vocal) loses none of its appeal in the lightly funky, piano-sprinkled makeover by hearts+horses (Wes Steed and Jeannette Faith, previously operating under the Park Avenue Music name). FJORDNE (Shunichiro Fujimoto) gives flica's “l” a carefree, folktronic treatment, while flica (Euseng Seto) turns “bites of snow” into a placid ambient oasis. “Land of Forgotten Morals” by Dom Mino' becomes a serene electric guitar-laced soundscape in Federico Durand's hands; the Dom Mino' mix of “Tilo,” by comparison, starts out with summery sounds of crickets chirping and water droplets before blossoming into an IDM-styled set-piece elevated by the joyous burble of synthetic sounds and strings. The album's sparkling vibe continues in me:mo's jazzy, at times Pat Metheny-esque remix of Kosemura's “Just A Few Minutes.” The album's filled with deceptively simple songs that are nevertheless transporting and, in many moments, beguile with their innocence and beauty.

June 2009